La Tropicale Amissa Bongo: The road cycling race caravan comes to Cameroon

The caravan 15th edition of the 2020 La Tropicale Amissa Bongo road cycling tour will be in the Cameroonian soil for the first time since its inception.

The lap to cover a distance of 149 km will run from Bitam in Gabon to Ebolowa, South of Cameroon this Monday January 20, 2020.

Cameroon has six cyclists participation in this year’s tour, they are; Kamzong Abossolo Clovis, Tella Arthuce, Mbah Hervé Raoul , Tientcheu Michel , Nounawe Rodrigue and Kossoko Sadikou.

Ahead of the tour, the Governor of the South Region, Félix Nguele Nguele and his close collaborators had meetings to strategize on the best security measures along the borders.

The race is the first international cycling race in the African continent.

Knowing La Tropicale Amissa Bongo Road Cycling Tour

La Tropicale Amissa Bongo is a road cycling race held in Gabon and is part of the International Union of Cycling (UCI) Africa Tour.

The race consists of only a men’s competition, a race run over seven stages (as of the 2019 edition). The race is named in honor of late Albertine Amissa Bongo daughter of Omar Bongo Ondimba.

The 2020 edition of the road race starts Monday January 20th, 2020 and will end January 26th , 2020.

This year’s edition has in all 15 participating teams, seven from Europe and eight African clubs.

France alone has four teams ; Total Direct Énergie, COFIDIS, Niippo Deuko Provence and Natura4Ever Roubaix Lille Métropole.
Other participants are from England, Slovakia, Eritrea , Rwanda, Morocco, Algeria,Cote D’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, South Africa and Cameroon.

Winners Of Past Editions

# 2006 – Jussi Veikkanen (Française des Jeux, Finland)

# 2007 – Frédéric Guesdon (Française des Jeux, France)

# 2008 – Lilian Jégou (Française des Jeux, France)

# 2009 – Matthieu Ladagnous (Française des Jeux, France)

# 2010 – Anthony Charteau (Bbox Bouygues Telecom, France)

# 2011 – Anthony Charteau (Team Europcar, France)

# 2012 – Anthony Charteau (Team Europcar, France)

# 2013 – Yohann Gène (Team Europcar, France)

# 2014 – Natnael Berhane (Team Europcar, Eritrea)

# 2015 – Rafaâ Chtioui (Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team–Al Ahli Club, Tunisia).

# 2016 Adrien Petit (Direct Énergie, France)

# 2017 – Yohann Gène (Direct Énergie, France)

# 2018 – Joseph Areruya Rwanda (Rwandan national team)

# 2019 – Niccolò Bonifazio (Italy)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *